THE LOST WORLDS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS & ERRATA PAGE

Lost Worlds FAQ
Last updated May 2, 2008 and seldom needs updating
Welcome to the Lost Worlds Sage Page, where we present all forms of errata and frequently asked questions about our favorite game. I'm Dennis Greci, the developer of the system, and I'll be answering your e-mail questions and posting the results here.

Nova Game Designs, Inc.
First published the system. This company is no longer with us, but all the copyrights and patents for the system are still active and retained by the designer, Alfred Leonardi

Flying Buffalo Inc
Publishes Lost Worlds titles featuring characters from their Tunnels & Trolls universe and currently distributes what's left of Nova's original inventory. Also publishes the licensed KODT characters, and is currently licensed to reprint what is out of print.

Chessex Manufacturing
Has published 4 titles.

Shadis Magazine
Published 2 characters inside the magazine.

Greysea, LLC
Also unfortunately no longer with us, but recently published many new Lost Worlds books and reprinted many of the Nova books.

GENERAL QUESTIONS

Several of my Lost Worlds books have what appears to be typos in them. Instead of a result page, there is a 0 or 00 in the character grid. How do I find out what the correct number is? Most character have zeroes after certain maneuvers in their books. They're maneuvers the character can't do. For instance, if a character can't do a maneuver 36, there will be a 00 after the 36 on each page of the character's book.

I'm pretty amazed, at first glance, how similiar the characters are! They seem very unique, but the grids are a lot more similiar than they are different. Yes, there are some basic things that don't change regardless of the character, like what happens when you jump up while someone is swinging down. (Can you say Ouch??) What will vary is the severity of the damage (Is the character agile enough to get partially out of the way) and the restrictions for next turn.

Were any characters besides the Samurai and Ninja released in the (in my opinion) horrible "2nd edition" graphics format used by Emithill? (used a graphical representation of prohibited manuvers) Were there any other foreign editions that used different graphics or format? Emithill published a number of the original Lost Worlds in the "Universal" format for use on the continent. They did poorly. Another company, Softbank from Japan, also published a set of 12 or 16 (I've forgotten which, now) with Japanese text and enhanced color covers. Both licenses ended many years ago, and you'll probably only find the editions through collectors or old foreign hobby stores.

Some Lost Worlds books have an ISBN number on the back and some don't. Is my assumption correct that the ISBN editions were later? Any idea when the change occurred? Yes they were later...I suspect the ISBNs came out around 1986, but I can't be sure without a lot more research.

PLAY BALANCE

Are the characters truly well balanced? Characters with a size differential seem especially out of balance for one on one combat. But even without the size differential, certain characters don't seem to fare well. Does the system favor the 'better characters?' Do you see the same few characters winning most of the time? Can the Skeleton truly compete against the Man in Plate, even with the added body points given by the tournament rules? Anything's possible, and in my dozen or so years of running playtest for Nova Games, Nutmeg Games, Flying Buffalo, Chessex, etc., I've had dozens of people come up to me and tell me that character x is
a. unbeatable, or
b. a complete wimp
Strangely, someone has told me both things about almost every character. A great deal has to do with the person's playing style, and how well you know your opponent. The best fun is when two of these people with opposite views show up at the tournament booth at the same time. Usually, about 20 - 30 minutes later, one of them comes back (after two or three battles) and buys the "wimpy" book, or the book that just beat the "unbeatable" character. Balanced? No, probably not in the exact statistical sense. Each character has strengths and weaknesses, and sometimes they take time to discover. The Halfling is short, but his daggers are deadly. Bith (Runesword) is physically weak, but she has a throat-cutting maneuver that catches people off guard (maneuver 38, if you really want to know), and on top of that, she casts minor magic in 2 different green maneuvers, and major magic with maneuvers 4 and 26. Someone with a good spell selection can clean up with her (and did at the a tournament at Gencon). It's all in knowing what the character is capable of. The wraith was considered a wimp, and the unicorn unbeatable, until one convention a few years ago, when one wraith character discovered that ANY physical, bodily contact with the wraith caused a 2 point drain. All of a sudden, all those Unicorn players were hiding from this "wimp" who'd trumped their best play...
I could go on, but you get the idea. In general, to answer your question about balance, the "best" of the normal characters, judging by tournament results, would be:
The Samurai : Low swings go to body wounds
The Man in Plate : Most players don't have the patience to wear him down
Flaming Cherry : Agility + luck = deadly
The new characters all come with special skills (i.e. Tactics, Luck, etc.). How do I convert my old characters to the new system? Statistics for all of the old characters were published in issue 1 of "Lost Manuscripts" from Flying Buffalo, Inc. The statistics are also listed with the errata on the previous pages here. Complete copies of "Lost Manuscripts" are available from Flying Buffalo through your local hobby store, or from their place in cyberspace.

FANTASY CARDS


Why do certain characters have limitations on which Luck cards they can use? Ignore any reference on the new character cards to limitations on the fantasy card numbers (i.e only cards #1-#10). We were going to restrict the characters to the type of cards they could use, but decided it was too cumbersome and annoying. If a character can use Luck cards (or magic cards, etc.) they can use any cards that fit the category. Of course, this doesn't mean that characters with red magic skill can use green magic cards...we're not that liberal.

Why are there gold point values on the item cards? The gold point values for items are a relative worth for trading, role-playing, and acquiring specific cards through Flying Buffalo. They'll be awarding "gold coin" cards as well as packaging them in with some of their books. See their home page for more details.

The tactic cards from the Rune Sword books are a little different than the new ones. How do you choose them by points? (ie. There are now two Sideslips, and they are different). You can use which ever one you have, although I expect to be republishing all of the old ones in the new format. When that happens, we'll declare the old ones "collectible" or "obsolete"

Can I get hold of "complete" sets of the fantasy cards? Unfortunately, no. There have been three publishers of fantasy cards: Flying Buffalo, Inc (FBI), Greysea, and Chessex. You can get all of the FBI cards from your hobby store or directly from Flying Buffalo. There are 5 sets of 15 cards which sell for $5 each. Each set contains specific items (for instance, one set is just purple spells and something else). Each set also contains one "chase" card which may be different from pack to pack. Chessex is no longer selling their cards and of course Greysea is no longer in business. Flying Buffalo may reprint the other cards at some point.

Are the old and new tactic cards considered equivalent? In my mind, the older cards are a bit more powerful? As with the magic cards, the new cards are gradually replacing the old ones. Where two of the same name exist, the newer one takes precedence. But as always, until specifically eliminated, you can use whatever card from the original system you want.

Are campaign items considered general items? The rules in the books say that these earned after gaining experience. But, for example, would these items be allowed in a tournament? No, they aren't general items. We use the campaign medals to award to players at tournaments after a certain number of victories, or to balance a weaker character (or inexperienced player) against stronger or more experienced foes.

What exactly is Standard Gear? I have all sorts of things that might be considered "standard gear". Are there any restrictions on what characters can use what items? Where do scrolls fall? I have seen Medallions, Wands, Stones, Gauntlets, Amulets, Rings, Potions, Scrolls, Boots, and Powder. If I understand your question correctly, the answer is that the items listed below that wording on the character sheet IS the standard gear. For example, Chiron's standard gear includes an axe, chain mail, helm, shield, red spells, and up to three general items. The latter is part of your question, though. Our "general" ruling is: A general item is one that doesn't fall into the specific listing elsewhere (i.e. if your weapon is a sword, you can't use an axe), and will fit normally on your anatomy (a.k.a. Unicorns don't wear rings, not even on their horns. Nor do they wear boots on their hooves. They may wear an amulet.) Be reasonable, but creative. The only place any rule like that holds is where the players agree on the rules. When in doubt, the home player gets the advantage ("Its my house and I make the rules here") When it's one of my tournaments, I make the rules, and vary them to suit the playing atmosphere.

Certain items seem useless: Gunnars Kreig, Sword, Dwarves add +2 to sword attacks against giants and trolls. What is the point? The only Dwarf in the system uses an Ax. There is a second one (Gildersleve) designed, which Greysea LLC published in July 1997. And there may be others in the future.

What exactly is a "special case", in regards to spells? I have a player who was hit while casting, and did not end on the spell-casting page. He did end on a score page, does his spell go off even though he was hit? No spell goes off... a spell CANNOT go off unless the other person sees the spell being cast. In this instance, our rationale is that the spellcaster (who normally has a high dexterity or reaction) aborted his or her spell and made a normal attack with a 0 damage modifier. The other player hit him normally. The "special case" rule (there are several) that I think you are referring to is when two spellcasters both cast at the same time. They both see each other on a casting page, but (of course) neither one is on a Score page. In this case, both spells DO go off. This rule exists on the back of the original 32 spell cards (red magic).

Laura's Brooch is a bit confusing as some of my players don't know if it means their page one or their opponents page one and how to get there. Was the intent behind it to have it heal the person as if he did a jump with out being scored on? For clarity, you may assume it says "...when your opponent sees you on Page 1."

The yellow spell cards don't say anything about what the opponents restrictions are next turn - my suggestion and what I have been doing at my tournaments is that since most of the yellow spells are defensive and cast on the caster rather then the opponent is that the opponent has no restrictions next turn ? Correct. In the absence of any other restrictions, the correct response is "No restrictions next turn" or "Do only extended range next turn". The restriction and score from the score page are ignored.

Yellow spell " Magic Egg " when it says weapon attacks does that include kicks and hand to hand or hoof and horn attacks ? I assume that it does not protect against poison or spells or the wraith's touch or other similar attacks ? The only damage affected is that done by Weapons; i.e. swords, shields, etc. Claws, teeth, magic and so forth are unaffected.

For tactic and luck cards that say you can only use them when being scored on can they also be used if your opponent is scoring negative damage? I assume that you're looking at cards like "Wrist Lock"...in cases like these, any score page is sufficient to trigger it.

For any of the characters that can poison - does the poison start on the first turn or does it start on the next turn ? It starts on the turn it is inflicted, unless the instructions specifically state otherwise.

Card # 136, Yellow Magic, Valki's Dance, 3 points, says that "Opponent's weapon is out of reach until they do 2 successive jumps". Does successive mean you just have to do two jumps in a row, or does it mean you have to do two jumps in a row WITHOUT being scored on? In all such cases (as far as I can remember) the intent is two in a row without being scored upon (That is, on two consecutive turns, your opponent sees you on one of the Jump pages, i.e. Up, Duck, Dodge, Away)

Does poison and disease affect undead? No, poison and disease don't affect undead. It can only affect living tissue (which they don't have).

MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS

Often, your restrictions say: Do no Thrusts, or Do no Side Swings, or something similar. Does DO NO THRUSTS include moves such as: 6-Protected Attack Thrust 38-Protected Attack Thrust? If you are told "Do no Thrusts" it means ANY maneuver with the word Thrust in it, including Fake Thrust.

If a page tells you "if on p.x goto p.x" is the second page for more damage, different damage, or different restrictions only? When you're redirected to another page, ALL effects (score, restrictions, etc.) are taken from the new page, unless specifically informed otherwise. The original page is ignored. This includes the effects of magic spells.

Most characters can also do a Kick when they've lost their weapon. Kick translates to move 56. So can a character without a weapon or shield, but HAS move 34, kick, do move 56 (Block & Close)? No, although it will appear that he is blocking and closing to an extended range opponent if he kicks a second opponent at close range.

If a weapon is broken, like the dwarf's axe or the wraith's sickle, can it still break shields? There's nothing in the game mechanics to prevent but I thought the whole idea of smashing shields was for heavy ended weapons. Once a weapon is broken, it's no longer heavy ended. Perhaps once a weapon is broken it should no longer be able to do 36 bash? Broken weapons cannot break shields. Allow the Bash move, but ignore the "Shield Broken" or "Weapon Broken" results.

MAGIC RESISTANCE

I'm very confused on this issue of resistance, what does magic resistance or fire resistance mean, and what do the numbers of resistance mean? Examples: Bith has those stones of amber which increase her fire and magic resistance by 3. Endril just has a magic resistance of 2. The Cold Drake has cold resistance of 1 and magic resistance of 2. The Manticore has magic resistance of 1. The Unicorn has magic resistance of 3. Brimstone subtracts 3 from fire based attacks. Please respond to a lost ones cry for help and wisdom. Don't feel bad...it's really quite simple. You're dealing with two different types of effect here. MAGIC resistance causes spells cast at the character with resistance to cost extra...hence, Bith's Amber stones mean any spell cast at her will cost three magic points more than normal...and resistances ARE additive. If Endril had the Amber stones, his magic resistance would be 5 (3 + 2).
Now, resistance to a type of attack serves to lessen the damage that the person suffers from that attack. So resistance to cold or fire attacks will reduce the damage by that amount. Here's the tricky part: Magic resistance doesn't reduce the damage from a magic attack. Sorry, we should have given the two characteristics different names, but we didn't. (Hindsight = 20/20)

CHARACTER ADVANCEMENT

Is maneuver advancement completly scrapped? Why? Too powerful? The character advancement system was changed for simplicity's sake. Personally, I liked the older system, but it was a little more complex mathematically, and required more record keeping. By the way, the newer books published by Greysea LLC have a newer character advancement system in them.

Can someone who can't cast magic at start build up points and eventually be able to? No. Sorry, if you don't have the skill in your starting book, you can't ever have it.

Can anyone put points into magic resistance; or anything else for that matter? No. Special attributes like magic resistance are inherent in the character, and can't be "improved" like skills can.

SCENARIOS AND ADVENTURE SETS There are several new scenario sets that we've designed for Lost Worlds. I haven't changed most of the rules, just cleaned them up somewhat. Two of these are available from Flying Buffalo.

DOWNLOADS:
We'd like to offer some free scenarios for customers to download. If you have written a scenario using the Lost Worlds combat books for combats, contact us at rick at flying buffalo dot com - such a scenario should be fairly short, and include only books that are currently available. See the current free scenario at the downloads page.

Greysea, LLC
The listing which follows will feature each of the published books, along with any changes, clarifications, and /or special questions which might help clarify a sticky rules issue. Note that a number of these books went through multiple print runs, and some of the corrections were included in the later runs.

GSE5001 "Arcanthus" the Sage
No errata

GSE5002 "Daniel" the Pirate
Changed: Cover art on v2 by Rick Emond
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuver 42 "Fake High" the Damage Modifier should be +1
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuver 12 "Fake Low" the Damage Modifier should be +1
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuver 22 "Parry & Punch" the Damage Modifier should be S
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuver 44 "Leap & Swing Down" the X-Range conversion should be 50
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuver 16 "Jump Away" the X-Range conversion should be 62
Correction: On page 49 change restriction to "No restrictions next turn, and if on a score page, cause me 3 points of temporary damage for this turn only."
Correction: On page 52 vs. 58 change result to 17
Correction: On page 58 vs. 58 change result to 17
Correction: On page 60 vs. 58 change result to 17

GSE5004 "Chester" the Jester
No Errata

GSE5005 "Thorgal" the Wyrm Slayer
No Errata

GSE5006 "Wyrm" the Dragon
No Errata

GSE5008 - Stegosaur - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5009 - Pachycephalosaur - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5010 - T-Rex - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5011 - Triceratops - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5012 - Pinacosaur - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5013 - Allosaur - Dino Series
No Errata

GSE5016 - "Zzz..."the Zombie
Changed: Cover art on v2 by Rick Emond
Correction: On the character sheet the damage modifier for maneuver 38 "Turn & Throw" should be 4 not 2
Correction: On the character sheet the damage modifier for maneuver 22 "Aim & Throw" should be 3 not 1
Correction: On the character sheet the Extended Range conversion for maneuver 22 should be 60
Correction: On the character sheet the Extended Range conversion for maneuver 26 "Shriek Terror" should be 58
Correction: On the character sheet the Extended Range conversion for maneuver 16 "Jump Away" should be 62
Correction: On the character sheet the damage modifier for maneuver 64 "X-Range Punch" should be -5
Correction: On the character sheet the damage modifier for maneuver 60 "X-Range Throw Rock" should be 4
Correction: On the character sheet the change maneuver 20 "Duck & Get Rock" to "Duck"
Correction: On the character sheet the change maneuver 8 "Dodge" to "Dodge & Get Rock"
Clarification: Note that the Zombie does not have Luck or Tactics
Correction: On page 15 change title "Down Swing" to "Thump on Head"
Correction: On page 28 vs. 38 result should be 19
Correction: On page 29 change title "Duck & Get Rock" to "Duck"
Correction: Onpage 29 change restriction to "Do no Orange but add +1 to any Blue that scores next turn. (P*)
Correction: On page 30 vs. 22 result should be 19
Correction: On page 30 vs. 32 result should be 19
Correction: On page 30 vs. 38 result should be 19
Correction: On page 30 vs. 42 result should be 43
Correction: On page 33 change title "Dodge" to "Dodge & Get Rock"
Correction: On page 33 change restriction to "No restrictions, add +1 to any Thump or Punch that scores next turn, and you may pick up a Rock." (P*)
Correction: On page 63 change title to "Shriek Terror"

GSE5019 - "Horras" the Hobgoblin
No Errata

GSE5020 - Medusa - Greek Mythos
Correction:On the character sheet for maneuver 24 "Down Swing Smash" change damage modifier to 3
Correction:On the character sheet for maneuver 32 "Thrust High" change damage modifier to 1
Correction:On the character sheet for maneuver 14 "Thrust Low" change damage modifier to 1
Correction:On the character sheet for maneuver 38 "Power: Gaze" change damage modifier to 1
Correction:On the character sheetChange maneuver 48 "Constrict Foe" to a Blue maneuver
Correction:On the character sheetChange maneuver 6 "Tail Whip" to a red maneuver
Correction:On the character sheetChange maneuver 16 "Slither Away" to a Yellow maneuver
Correction:On the character sheetChange X-Range modifier for maneuver 16 to 62
Correction:On the character sheetChange the maneuver category "Snake Attack" to "Power"
Clarification:Note that Medusa has NO Tactics
Correction:Page 29 change restriction to "No restriction next turn, add +3 to any Skill or Power that scores next turn" (P*)
Correction:On page 37 change restriction to "Do no Blue next turn and add +2 to any Orange that scores."
Correction:On page 49 change restriction to "Do no Orange next turn, and if Scoring 5 or more points of Damage I have been turned to stone and you win."

GSE5021 - "Gildersleve" the Dwarf
Correction: On the character sheet for maneuvers 6 & 48 the Extended Range coversion should be 60 not 56

GSE5024 - "Ursa" the Bugbear
No Errata

NOVA Games The listing which follows will feature each of the published books, along with any changes, clarifications, and /or special questions which might help clarify a sticky rules issue. Note that a number of these books went through multiple print runs, and some of the corrections were included in the later runs.

Man in Chainmail w/ Sword and Shield (Nova #1001)
Addition: Parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: Ignore the reference to 36 -Downswing Bash on the back of the character card
Correction: On all even numbered parchments, the result vs a 36 should be 00
Correction: On parchment 28, change to 6 - 45 and 8 - 19
Correction: On parchment 58, change to 54 - 57 and 60 - 13
Correction: On parchment 64, change to 54 -53 and 60 - 57

Skeleton w/ Scimitar and Shield (Nova #1002)
Addition: Parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On parchment 28, change to 6 - 45 and 8 - 19
Correction: On parchment 58, change to 54 - 57 and 60 - 13
Correction: On parchment 64, change to 54 -53 and 60 - 57
Clarification: For the purpose of various spells and other effects, the skeleton is considered an undead.

Dwarf w/Axe (Nova #1003)
Addition: Parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On the character sheet, the number in the "X" column for Thrust - Hook Shield should be 60, not 54
Correction: On the character sheet, the damage modifier for Downswing Bash (36) is +3, not +5, and the modifier for Downswing Smash (24) is +2, not +4.
Addition: On parchment 9, add to the restriction "...If on p.53 and I am using a shield, go to p. 55."
Why can't the Dwarf draw his sword and use it?
The original design of the dwarf didn't include a sword. Unfortunately, we didn't make that clear to the artist, who drew it in to match some sketches we'd previously approved.

Giant Goblin w/ Mace and Shield (Nova #1004)
Addition: Parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On parchment 59, the restrictions should read, "Do only Green orYellow next turn."

Woman in Scale w/ Sword and Shield (Nova #1005)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On all even numbered parchments, the result vs a 36 should be 00
Is there a particular reason why the Woman in Scale's (reprint version) ducking maneuver is a score page? I can't think of any other character who is treated as being hit when ducking. While a -6 is likely to result in no damage, it does provide one less maneuver to use against spell casters.
I'll have to check that one...I have the original books, and page 29 (Ducking) is not a score page. I don't recall any reason that we would have changed it in the reprint.. What was supposed to be changed was page 27 (weapon dislodged, score -6) which the first series of books didn't show as a Score page, but the later books did

Just what does it mean when both characters are at page 23 (e.g., if Woman in Scale chooses 14 and just about any character chooses 8)? For the result to be literally true (both characters behind each other), they would have to be back to back, but in that case the lack of any restrictions doesn't make sense. Should we just ignore the title and pretend they are facing each other?
The rationale, as I recall (12 or 13 years ago or so), was that both characters were in an equally disadvantageous position, and would both recover normally. Rather than restricting them both to yellow, it was decided to move the game along and assume that each player turned around.

Hill Troll w/ Club (Nova # 1006)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On parchment 16, change to 18 - 57 and 20 - 57
Correction: On parchment 54, change to 56 - 45
What is the definition of being enraged on the Hill Troll with Club? Does it mean when you reach page 7 or 53?
Anytime, whether voluntarily or by restriction, that you are required or choose to use a Rage maneuver you are considered enraged. The problem (and the reason for the note on the back of the character card) is that if you are scored on while doing a Rage maneuver, the result page may not have the correct restriction (i.e. Do only Green or Yellow next turn) to reflect the enraged condition. Hence the note on the back of the character sheet.

On parchment 43, it reads "May use weapon again if not being scored against..." Is the correct interpretation of this, "If not taking damage..."?
No...any score page will suffice to prevent the character from retrieving, regardless of whether damage is being scored or not. This really only applies in a 2-on-1 or more situation against the Troll, since in a 1-on-1, you won't be scoring on the Troll when on p.43 (Magic damage from a multi-turn spell doesn't count).

Barbarian w/ Two Handed Sword (Nova #1007)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On parchment 7, the restriction should read "Do only Jumps next turn."
Is the Barbarian limited to 2-Handed Swords? If so, which ones are 2 Handed and which are 1 Handed?
For simplicity's sake, you may assume all swords are capable of being wielded two-handed. But not everybody is trained to use them that way.

Fighter-Mage w/ Magic Sword (Nova #1008)
Addition: Parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
How are the old Red magic spells used with the new system?
The trick here is realizing that, in the new system, you "pre-spend" all of your spell points. Therefore, there must be some way for you to indicate just how many points you're spending when you select a spell. Use the following approach: When selecting an "Old" spell, you must specify at what level it is being cast (on a separate slip of paper or some other convenient reminder), or for things like fireball, how many spell points are being put into it prior to the start of the combat. That way, you still pre-select your spells.
If trying to use an old mage with the new spells, use the following conversion:
3 spell points or less = Minor Magic
4-6 spell points = Major Magic
7 or more spell points = Great Magic
Note that, eventually, most of the "old" spells will be issued in the new, smaller card format.

Does the Fighter Mage still show up with a magic sword?
Sure, why not? Most of the new characters are packaged with 1-4 spells and/or items (which are listed on their character cards). Check Flying Buffalo's Lost Manuscript for the "sets" which make the old characters equivalent to the new ones.

Wraith w/ Sickle (Nova #1009)
Correction: On parchment 9, the restriction should read "..and if on P53 and I am using a shield, go to P55".
Correction: On parchment 21, the restriction should read "Do only Yellow next turn. Spend one body point to stay on this plane of existence, otherwise escape."
Correction: On parchment 23, the restriction should read "No restriction next turn."
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -6
Clarification: On parchment 63, the wraith's Touch is ineffective against other undead, including wraiths, skeletons, mummies, etc.
Clarification: For the purpose of various spells and other effects, the wraith is considered an undead.
If I kick the wraith, does it drain two body points from me?
Yes. If you come into physical contact with the wraith (kicking, biting , grabbing, etc.) you will be drained of 2 body points. That's why the unicorn, manticore, and cold drake have a harder than normal time with this character. As we mentioned above, the wraith's drain does NOT work against undead (skeletons, mummies, other wraiths, etc.)

On page 63 of the Wraith, it refers to the unmodified score. Does unmodified exclude the bonus from Page 1, +2 to any score next turn?
Unmodified MEANS unmodified. Exactly what is written on the Score page. No alterations. No exceptions. That's why the wraith doesn't like fighting the man in plate or other characters who have -1 scores on p.19.

If the Wraith is fighting the Man in Plate, and maneuvers to Page 1, which gives him Plus 2 on any score, does this Plus 2 Modification count for his Touch Maneuver?
Touch is never modified (unless we invent a magic item that does). Damage modifiers (from the character sheet) or maneuver modifiers (i.e. Tell opponent "Add +2 if you score...") do not alter the amount of drain done by a wraith touch.

I am the Wraith, my opponent is the Barbarian. I do move 60, he does move 50. I end up on page 13, he ends up on page 17. What happens? 1) Do I score 5 and then Dematerialize, or do I instantly dematerialize? 2) Does he also turn to page 57, or does he stay on page 17?
The Wraith Dematerializes, and scores no damage. The "if on a score page" is merely to determine success, just like with spells. Both characters restart on page 57

I am the Wraith, fighting the Barbarian, and neither of us has taken damage. I do move 6 (Touch), He does move 12. I turn to page 53 (a body wound), he turns to page 63 (Draining Touch). What happens? 1) Do I do 6 damage & drain two body points? 2) Do I just drain 2 body points? 3) Do I drain 2 body points and my Body Total goes up to 10? (above 8)
Your third guess is correct. Again, the Touch is like a spell, and the "score page" merely lets you know that it has succeeded. And you definitely gain two additional body points (as many times as you can) until the end of the battle (See special rule on the back of the character card)

In the "old" experience point system,when you receive combat adds from experience, what does +1 to touch do?
The wraith's touch becomes a 3 point drain, although I wouldn't allow the Wraith to put an experience add into Touch until all of the other categories have been filled ... it's really pretty powerful.

Cold Drake (Nova #1010)
Clarification: For those who haven't already figured it out, the Cold Drake is a type of dragon, and rules, spells, items etc. which affect dragons will affect the Cold Drake.
Correction: On parchment 58, change to 58 - 25

Halfling w/ Sword and Shield (Nova #1011)
Correction: On parchment 16, change to 36 - 63

Does the Halfling (or any other character) lose his Dagger when he executes a Throw Dagger move? What about when he gets hit and doesn't successfully throw it?
If you can see the character throwing it, it's gone until successfully retrieved. If you're scoring on the character who's trying to throw the dagger, it's only considered thrown if he is also scoring.

When a halfling and an opp. both do a 46 (retrieve) why doesn't he pick up his weapon, and therefore, how can he be swinging high without a weapon as matrixed (p3?)?
There is a highly technical reason for the result you observed.
We call it...
...a mistake !!
Good Catch! I thought we had found all the bugs from the original series, but this one is a proofreading typo (it should have been a 43). You can easily verify this by looking at the same result in any other book.

Lizard Man w/ Scimitar and Buckler (Nova #1012)
No errata

Man in Plate w/ Sword and Shield (Nova #1013)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
My character sheet is missing some of the data. What's going on?
A glitch resulted in the first batch of character cards missing some information. The Man in Plate has 12 body points, just like most other humans.

The restrictions say Do only Kick, Yellow, or Green (except Wild Swing) until weapon has been retrieved. This seems to imply that you cannot do a Shoulder Slam, though I don't see why you couldn't... True, if you succeeded, you'd be seriously restricted (Move 36 or 34), but does move 36 really require a weapon?
Shoulder Slam is still a viable maneuver when you've lost your weapon. All it requires is your shoulder.

If the Man in Plate's Shield is destroyed, can he do move 56, Block and Close? Similiarly, If the Man in Plate loses his weapon, can he do move 56, Block and Close?
Strictly speaking, Block and Close is not just blocking with the shield, but also with the weapon. A character who has lost one or the other will still be able to perform man 56. A character who has neither a shield or melee weapon cannot Block and Close; all they can do is Dodge or Jump Back (in its various names) at Extended Range

Man w/ Short Sword & Dagger (Nova #1014)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
What happens with the Man w/short Sword & Dagger throws his dagger at a character that does not have an extended range leg wound on p47? Add this line under the page heading:"If redirected to this page from P35, return to P35. "

Woman w/ Quarterstaff (Nova #1015)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Correction: On the back of the character sheet, ignore the references to maneuvers the character doesn't have (Shield Blocks, Protected Attack, and Fake Sideswing) and substitute the following:
Block & Strike - Swing: Blocking opponent's weapon with staff and swinging with the other
Block & Strike - Thrust: Similar to the swing, but slower
Block - High: Maneuver using upper end of staff to block opponent's attack
Block - Low: Maneuver using lower end of staff to block opponent's attack

Winged Gargoyle w/ Scimitar (Nova # 1016)
No errata

Unicorn (Nova #1301)
Correction: On the character sheet, the information for the green maneuver Trample is incorrect. It should be: Pg: 26, X: 58, Mod: +4
Is there a restriction against charming the Cold Drake or other characters? The charm effect seems too strong!
That's why the Unicorn is so powerful...charm is universal (except against undead, of course, who just plain get blown away by it)

Samurai w/ Katana (Nova # 1401)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Can the Samurai split the helm of any character with a Helm or just another Samurai? (ex. Dwarf, Woman in Scale, Barbarian, ...)?
The Samurai can split the helm of anybody wearing one. There just really isn't much point to it (no one else is impressed), except that additional head wounds once the helm has been split cause a lot more damage (8 or 9 points, depending on the character)

Should the Samurai's page 9 be green and yellow only? What's the reason for this?
The page is correct as written. If successful, this maneuver is generally deadly (or nearly so) since it causes a head wound with a DM of +1. The maneuver is actually a two-handed thrust, so it throws the Samurai off balance for the next turn.

Ninja w/ Ninjato (Nova #1402)
Addition: On parchment 27 (Weapon Dislodged) should be a SCORE: -5
Gimmicks versus Spells - If Ninja does Gimmick while a Mage casts a spell, do both work or do both cancel each others' effect? i.e. Do both see what the other is doing , get scared , and stop what they are doing?
The general rule for spells, gimmicks, etc. is that if you are instructed to reveal a spell, gimmick, etc. card, it goes off (unless there was another condition, like "if on a score page...", in which case you have to meet all the conditions)

Manticore (Nova #1601)
Correction: On Page 58 vs 58, the result should be 3 (not 61)
The Manticore has 3 Venom Points. Do you use a Venom Point only when you actually hit your opponent? Every time you end on a score page? Or every time you try to sting? The rules seem to imply only when you actually manage to sting, but they aren't clear.
Per the character sheet, the Manticore is allowed to inflict "sting" damage 3 times (unless reduced by combat ,i.e. Page 13). The answer is therefore "The Manticore uses one venom point each time his sting atack results in a score of 1 or more."
When an opponent does a 64 - a "High" attack and the Manticore does a 58 "Slash Low" the result in the Manticore book is page 19 (a close range page) and the results in the opponents book is (usually) page 57 (a long range page). Where is the error ?
On page 64 of the Manticore Book, the result vs a 58 should be page 61 (an extended range result).
For the Manticore on parchments 43 and 45 it does not say anything about "if on a score page you have poisoned me, see back of character sheet" or is it just assumed that if your opponent ends up on either of those parchments that he/she is being stung?
It could have said "if on a score page, then read instructions on back of character sheet" or something like that. Regardless, the character sheet says if you do venomous sting and wind up on a score page, invoke the special rules and ignore the score. Either way, it's the same end result.

For a Manticore vs. Manticore battle, doing a 54 vs a 60 results in turning to page 45 (extended range) but doing a 60 vs. a 54 results in page 13 (close range). Should the 54 vs 60 show page 43 instead? Or something else?
The result should be a close range pair, so the 13 is correct, and the other combination should be a 43. (In Manticore Book, Page 54 vs 60 should be 43).

Bith (Female Mage)
How can Bith change what magic item she is holding? Just drop and grab a new item, or do a dodge without being scored upon to switch items?
Bith is quick. Doing a Jump (Brown at ER) without being scored on will allow her to change magic items, or to sheath her dagger and draw a second magic item. Just remeber to inform your opponent that you have done so.
Can Bith hold the Stones of Amber in one hand and the Silver Wand in the other, and still cast spells?
Yes, but she can't do any normal weapon attacks, and she has to add 1 to the cost of any spell she casts on herself (+3 for stones magic resistance, -2 for silver wand).

Cal (Warrior)
No errata

Endril (Elf)
No errata

Hathor (Troll w/ Axe)
No errata

Flying Buffalo Inc.
The listing which follows will feature each of the published books, along with any changes, clarifications, and /or special questions which might help clarify a sticky rules issue. Note that a number of these books went through multiple print runs, and some of the corrections were included in the later runs.

Umslapagaas (Scorpion Mage) (Flying Buffalo 8601)
No errata

Flaming Cherry (Flying Buffalo 8602)
On Flaming Cherry's character sheet, it says she can use Luck Cards #1-50. I assume the card # specification shouldn't be there and that she can use any Luck Card Available. Is this correct?
The number reference is a typo... a holdover from a previous version where the numbers were going to mean something. Ignore such references regarding Luck, Magic Spells, etc.
On parchment 25 I think that the restriction to do only jumps for 3 turns is a bit harsh and unrealistic. It does not take anything about the opponent into account.
Harsh, yes. But this is one of her many special skills. (She ain't no farmgirl, boy !!) It's effects should be restricted to two-legged characters, though.

Kharis (Royal Mummy) (Flying Buffalo 8603)
No errata

Chiron (Centaur) (Flying Buffalo 8604)
Correction: On parchment 59, the restriction should read "... and if on a Score page, you have sent me away."
Correction: On page 62 of Chiron's book... 54 - 59
That is, if you try to get away and Chiron "catches" you with his command, you're snagged (The reverse of this, doing a Thrust vs a Jump Away, usually winds up on a score page, so the special condition will take effect.) For Chiron on parchments 2, 14 , 22 and 42 when Chiron does 40 it says to go to 1 is that correct or is it a mistake ?
No mistake. Chiron has either abandoned his attack or seen an opening and is setting up for a better attack next turn.

Praxides (Female Gargoyle) (Flying Buffalo 8605)
On Parchment 16, 36-41 should be 36-5, right?
No. Parchment 16 36-41 is correct. Although Praxides will take no damage, the effect is such that her opponent has a strong advantage on the following turn.
On Parchment 52 64-57 Is this correct?
My original notes show that as being an 11. I'm not sure where the change took place.
Some colors are missing on the character cards. We've fixed most of them before we sold the books, but if yours is missing the colors, here's what they should be:
Magic - Cast Spell - #36 should be orange.
Down Swing - Down Swing - #24 should be orange.
Special - Dislodge Weapon - #30 should be blue.

MacAber (Highland Warrior) (Flying Buffalo 8607)
Correction: On parchment 2, change to 38 - 13
Correction: On parchment 64, change to 60 - 59
McAber has a maneuver on his card "Javelin Charge". This is the first Extended Range move and has a PG number of 50. When using this attack the results page is 39 - "Charging". This page in the McAber book shows the character charging with a *SWORD* and has a restriction of "Do no Green, Yellow, or Javelin attacks next turn. These 2 do not match... Is his charge used with the Javelin or the Sword?
The character card is wrong...it should have indicated that the charge was a sword maneuver.
For Mac Aber and other multi weaponed characters... If he has his Javelin drawn, can he do his basic moves? (24, 28, 10, 2, 32, 14, ...)
He can only do offensive maneuvers specifically labelled Javelin. He can still do Jumps, though.

Chessex
The listing which follows will feature each of the published books, along with any changes, clarifications, and /or special questions which might help clarify a sticky rules issue. Note that a number of these books went through multiple print runs, and some of the corrections were included in the later runs.

Othere (Djinn) (Chessex 60150)
Addition: On the character sheet, the Djinn's starting height should be 3

Brimstone (Fire Giant) (Chessex 60151)
Parchment 11 shows Brimstone blocking with rock. Shouldn't this be a Score Page?
No, not really, although I see what might make you think so.

Sir Percival (Mounted Knight)(Chessex 60152)
Correction: On the Character Sheet, Maneuver 34 should be labelled "Restricted Steed Kicks"
On parchment 45, 49, and 51 should it say "Add +2 if you score next turn" rather than "Add +2 if you parry next turn" ?
No, the text is accurate as written. He is driving you backwards with his parries, and more of his attack is getting through.

Cimeree (Female Elf) (Chessex 60153)
When you parry and knife with the female elf it is impossible to see parry in the book, thus making parry and knife useless.
Page 49 in Cimeree has a typo that was corrected in playtesting but not picked up by the publisher when it was time to print. The restriction should say "...if on a Score page, add +5 to your damage modifier." (Murphy's Law strikes again!!!)
On Parchment 53, should the restriction read "Do no Red or Orange next turn", rather than "Do only Red or Orange next turn." ?
Yes.
There seem to be some errors with the weapon lost results of "Cimeree" Elfin Maid:
On Parchment 27, Weapon Dislodged:
Tell opponent: "Do only Kick, Yellow or Green (except Wild Swing) until weapon has been retrieved."
This doesn't allow the Abilities (Throw Dagger, Cast Magic, & Pick Pocket), none of which seem to require a sword. It does allow the Parry manuevers (Parry Thrust, Parry Swing), which would seem difficult without a sword!
Should this read as follows?
Tell oppenent: "Do only Jumps, Abilities, Kick, or Retrieve Weapon until sword has been retrieved."
On Parchment 59, Throwing Dagger:
Tell opponent: "No restrictions next turn and if on a Score page do no Throw until dagger has been Retrieved."
Once again, it would seem difficult to parry and thrust or swing without both a dagger and a sword. Should this read as follows?
Tell opponent: "No restrictions next turn and if on a Score page do no Throw or Parry until dagger has been Retrieved."
The restriction on parchment 27 should read "The weapon you were using has been dislodged. Do no attacks involving that weapon until it has been retrieved." Although slightly more obscure than I would like, I have to assume that the typical Lost Worlds player understands that she can't do a Sideswing, Thrust, Fake, etc. if they don't have a weapon. If I had 6 lines of text to play with, it would be easier to spell it out and tell them:
"Hey, you just lost the weapon you were using. If you still have your dagger, you may use it, but all damage mods are at -2. If you don't have a weapon, then don't do any Thrusts, Swings, Fakes, Throws or Parries until you retrieve one."
For parchment 59, your suggestion is correct. The Parries are two-weapon attacks.

Shadis The listing which follows will feature each of the published books, along with any changes, clarifications, and /or special questions which might help clarify a sticky rules issue.

Veltigg (Forest Shade)
Does Veltigg the Forest Shade have the same physical contact rules as the original Wraith? If someone kicks me or otherwise attacks me physically, do I drain body points? If so, do I drain 2 or 3 body points?
Yes, Veltigg is a relative of the Wraith, and drains 3 points from the target into himself.
Does any physical contact with him drain 3 body points, like the Wraith?
Yes
Is he considered Undead for Spell purposes?
Yes.

Feel free to send us questions and comments to:
games at flying buffalo dot com

Back to Lost Worlds Page

Flying Buffalo Store

Flying Buffalo Home